One Month Post Mastectomy – Life with Expanders

Posted on Updated on

It has been a little over a month since surgery and overall the recovery has been great!  The doctors are very happy with how everything turned out and so am I!  I received a call about two weeks after surgery from one of my doctors letting me know that my tissue did not have any cancer cells and everything was benign.  I can not express the relief I had after that phone call.  Thankfully, I did not have any infection either and the incision site is a perfect thin line under my foobs.  The drains, that I mentioned before, went into my side and wrapped around the top and bottom of my chest for about a week and a half.  Although my chest is mostly numb, I could definitely see and feel those drains.  Once they were ready to be removed, the doctor literally just pulled them out and I was free.  Hallelujah!!  The area was still pretty sore but it was a relief to have them out.  I really think the mindset I had at the beginning of this whole process made it a fast and positive recovery regardless of any pain or struggle I had.  I was so excited to get this procedure done and I expected recovery to be a lot harder than what it was.

My doctor still set some limitations even though I had full function of my arms.  I had to remind myself to not lift much and keep my arms down.  After a few weeks, it was hard to follow instructions when I did not feel any restriction or pain so I wanted to test my strength out.  My first attempt to do a push up was a total fail and I went face first on the floor.  Haha it was pretty funny and definitely eye opening.  I will have to gradually work on my chest muscles and gaining my strength back.  Exercise in baby steps… I have to remember that!

So about these tissue expanders that I have in…… just weird.  It’s like a wave in my chest every time I move.  This “wave” will go away eventually but because the implant is not filled all the way just yet, I’ll pretend I’m on the beach. 🙂 Every 2 weeks I will have more saline injected through a needle and the port of my implant.  They inject the saline wherever the port is so there is no control over how the girls will look during this time.  To find the port they use magnets.  How neat is that?  My nurse grabbed the little magnet and ran it across my chest to locate the magnetic port.  I just kept thinking what if that is not really it?  The nurse circled the area where it was located and then a massive needle goes right in.  Sounds painful but I can not feel anything, it is so strange.  Over time I should gain some feeling back but I may not.  Not only are my boobs wave like, water balloons and magnetic but they have their own ID cards I have to carry around.  This process is definitely interesting.IMG_9034

On the books right now, I will go get a fill every few weeks and then in a few months I will have my second surgery.  The next surgery is not as intense as the first one, which is good news.

I love the “new” me.
Don’t let go of your dream because one day it will come true!  xoxo, Ashley

5 thoughts on “One Month Post Mastectomy – Life with Expanders

    Pam Pretz said:
    July 7, 2015 at 6:36 am

    I think you are amazing, and I’m so glad you’re doing so well!

    Like

    Lori wahaib Baine said:
    July 7, 2015 at 11:41 am

    I am so happy for you. You are a brave young woman with a long beautiful life to look forward to.

    Like

      Shirley Ward said:
      July 7, 2015 at 1:34 pm

      So glad all has gone well for you. May you continue to do well. GOD BLESS

      Liked by 1 person

    Stephanie Thompson said:
    July 7, 2015 at 1:02 pm

    You are so loved!! And sooooo Blessed!! Thank you Lord for this amazing journey!

    Like

    Connie Davis said:
    July 7, 2015 at 4:38 pm

    I am so proud and in awe of you at the same time! Glad that this part of your journey is over and that you can get on with your life without THIS worry. If I can only be like you when I grow up~ 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

